Disney+ unveils launch plans for 40+ countries, incl South Africa, Turkey & Poland

Pam & Tommy

Disney+ has revealed its launch plans for more than 40 countries this summer, with roll-outs in South Africa, Turkey and Poland in the works.

The Mouse House streamer will first launch in South Africa on 18 May, followed by a host of other countries in June, including Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen on 8 June.

Albania, Andorra, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey and Vatican City will then follow on 14 June, along with Israel on 16 June.

Disney+ will also come to territories including the Faroe Islands, Åland Islands, Sint Maarten, Svalbard & Jan Mayen, British Indian Ocean Territory, Gibraltar, Pitcairn Islands, St Helena, French Polynesia, the French Southern Territories and the St. Pierre and Miquelon Overseas Collective.

Subscribers will be able to watch original content including Star Wars series The Mandalorian and The Book Of Boba Fett, as well as Marvel shows Hawkeye and Loki, and further movies and shows from brands including Disney, Pixar, National Geographic and more, ranging from The Simpsons to Pam & Tommy.

Disney+ recently said it will introduce an ad-supported subscription, in addition to its option without ads, beginning in the US in late 2022, before expanding internationally in 2023, as well as plans to increase content spend by as much as $1bn.

Tags: Disney

Most Recent