AMC extends ‘The Walking Dead’ spin-offs for second seasons

The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon

AMC Networks in the US has extended two of its zombie franchise shows, The Walking Dead: Dead City and The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon, for second seasons.

The renewals come as The Walking Dead: Dead City concluded its six-part first season on the network yesterday, 23 July, and ahead of the launch of The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon on 10 September. Both shows are sequels to The Walking Dead, which ran for 11 seasons and concluded last year, with several spin-offs speedily commissioned to keep the franchise alive.

The Walking Dead: Dead City was announced in March last year and follows fan-favourite characters Maggie (Lauren Cohan) and Negan (Jeffrey Dean Morgan) as they battle zombies in post-apocalyptic New York City.

The Walking Dead: Daryl Dixon extension comes before the first season has aired. That show will follow the titular character, played by Norman Reedus, as he washes ashore in France and struggles to piece together how he got there and why.

The series tracks his journey across a broken but resilient France as he hopes to find a way back home. As he makes the journey, though, the connections he forms along the way complicate his ultimate plan.

AMC has also revealed the official title of another previously announced upcoming series in the franchise, The Walking Dead: The Ones Who Live, which will premiere in 2024 and will see the return of actors Andrew Lincoln and Danai Gurira to their former leading roles as Rick Grimes and Michonne.

Earlier this year, AMC announced that Fear The Walking Dead, which was the first spin-off from the original show in the franchise, is to conclude with its eighth season this fall.

Read Next