BBCS’s drama initiative Writers’ Academy names 2022 cohort

John Yorke

BBC Studios (BBCS) has named the eight emerging TV writers who have secured a place on its Writers’ Academy course.

The scheme, which was expanded earlier this year, provides a 13-week classroom period with scripted veteran John Yorke and guest speakers including the team from Bridgerton outfit Shondaland, Russell T Davies (It’s a Sin), as well as key drama commissioners from streamers.

They then spend six months developing their own pilot scripts, as well as having the opportunity to pitch to write broadcast episodes of BBC Studios Continuing Drama Series. Previous alumni includes writer of The Missing Rob Williams, Grantchester creator Daisy Coulam and Emer Kenny, writer of forthcoming series Karen Pirie.

Latest cohort

The eight writers joining the course in 2022 include: Lauryn Redding (Bloody Elle); Igor Memic; Pavan Patel (The Empires Jewel); and Sky Arts producer Daniel Bougourd.

The quartet are joined by: Bea Roberts (And Then Come The Nightjars); Chloe Myerson; Joan Iyiola (DỌLÁPỌ̀ IS FINE); and Gary Sewell (Hollyoaks).

Yorke said: “This year our brief was to find the next generation of original series creators – and we’ve been blown away by the talent we’ve uncovered.

“From nearly two thousand applications we’ve found a wonderfully diverse group of eight new voices – who bring a fascinating range of perspectives to their storytelling. We can’t wait to work alongside them as they hone their craft and hopefully, bring their stories to our screens.”

Read Next