WGGB Awards: Phoebe Waller Bridge & Charlie Covell make the shortlist

The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) has revealed the shortlist for its annual awards, held this January in London, UK.

WGGB, a UK trade body that represents writers in TV and Film, as well as other areas such as games and radio, will celebrate the most talented British writers today.

The writers up for Best Long Form TV Drama include Phoebe Waller-Bridge, for Killing Eve episode I Have A Thing About Bathrooms, Charlie Covell, for episode three of The End of the F***cking World, and Alice Nutter for Trust episode White Car in a Snowstorm.

Russell T Davies will be up for the Best Short Form TV Drama award for A Very English Scandal, along with Nick Leather for Mother’s Day and Sarah Phelps for Ordeal by Innocence.

The writers up for Best TV Situation Comedy include Derry Girls scribe Lisa McGee, Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith for Inside No.9 and Detectorists writer Mackenzie Crook.

Best Children’s TV Episode nominations will go to Bede Blake and Robert Butler for Creeped Out; Ciaran Murtagh and Andrew Barnett Jones for Dennis and Gnasher: Unleashed, Night of the Living Veg; and Vicki Lutas and Anna McCleery for Free Rein, Episode 207.

The remaining list of nominations can be found below:

Best Long Running TV Series
Casualty, Series 32, Episode 44 (Barbara Machin); Coronation Street, Episode 9451/2 (Jonathan Harvey); Hollyoaks, Episode 4889 (Roanne Bardsley)

Best Radio Drama
All of the Beauty In The World: The B Towns(Eve Steele); Idle Hands (Christine Entwisle); Stone, Episode 7 (Alex Ganley)

Best Radio Comedy
Ability (Lee Ridley and Katherine Jakeways); Deadline (Jessica Hynes); Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy, Volume 2, Part 1, ‘Seventy-Three Seconds’ (Sarah Kendall)

Best Writing in a Video Game
FIFA 19 The Journey: Champions (Matt Turner, Tom Watt and Martin Korda); Reigns: Her Majesty (Leigh Alexander); The Spectrum Retreat (Giles Armstrong and Dan Smith)

Best Screenplay
American Animals (Bart Layton); The Death of Stalin (Armando Iannucci, David Schneider, Ian Martin, Peter Fellows, Fabien Nury); The Little Stranger (Lucinda Coxon and Sarah Waters)

Best First Screenplay
Apostasy (Daniel Kokotajlo); I Am Not A Witch (Rungano Nyoni); The Happy Prince (Rupert Everett)

Best Play
Black Men Walking (Testament); Gut (Frances Poet); Jellyfish (Ben Weatherill)

Best Play for Young Audiences

Beginners (Tim Crouch); The Changing Room (Chris Bush); The Vultures’ Song (Mike Kenny)

Best Musical Theatre Bookwriting

Everybody’s Talking About Jamie (Tom MacRae); Miss Littlewood (Sam Kenyon); Pieces of String (Gus Gowland)

Best First Novel
In Our Mad and Furious City (Guy Gunaratne); The Gods of Love (Nicola Mostyn); White Chrysanthemum (Mary Lynn Bracht)

Best Online Comedy
Spokke(Tim Grewcock and Shaun Lowthian);Three Cool Days(Arnab Chanda and Chris Hayward);

Read Next