Series Mania reveals grand prize winner & Forum attendance


Series Mania has named French drama Le Monde De Demain as the grand prize winner at this year’s festival and revealed that more than 3,000 people attended the industry-focused Forum last week.

Le Monde De Demain was produced by Les films Du Bélier for Arte France and Netflix, and was created by Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne, Vincent Poymiro and David Elkaïm, with the collaboration of Laurent Rigoulet.

It was chosen by an international jury chaired by the Ukrainian producer Julia Sinkevych, who was in attendance at the event in Lille.

Attendance & awards

Organisers said the public-facing Festival strand of the event had drawn more than 70,000 participants, while more than 3,300 accredited persons had been on-site for the Forum, hailing from 64 countries. The 2021 Forum attracted 2,100 on-site, while the 2019 edition claimed 2,700 on-site.

The visits to the Series Mania Website and Series Mania Digital Platform totaled 260,000 views, event organisers added.

Laurence Herszberg

“While the highlights are numerous from this year for the Festival, Forum, and Lille Dialogues, I certainly want to acknowledge our jury president and my dear friend, Ukrainian producer film producer Julia Sinkevych, who was truly an inspiration to everyone who met her,” said Ms. Laurence Herszberg, founder and general director of Series Mania.

“I’d also like to congratulate all the Festival winners, as well as the team from Paradys, winner of the Forum’s Co-Pro Pitching Sessions. We look forward to welcoming everyone to Series Mania 2023.”

Details of the award winners are below:

International Competition

Grand Prize: Le Monde De Demain (France)
– Created by: Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne, Vincent Poymiro, David Elkaïm. With the collaboration of Laurent Rigoulet. Based on an original idea by Katell Quillévéré and Hélier Cisterne. With the participation of Kool Shen, JoeyStarr and DJ Détonateur S.
– Screenplay: Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne, Vincent Poymiro,, David Elkaïm, Raphäel Chevènement, Nour Ben Salem, Ruddy-Williams Kabuil.
– Director: Katell Quillévéré, Hélier Cisterne
– Production : Les films du Bélier, Arte France
– Broadcasting: Arte, Netlfix

Best Actress: Michelle de Swarte (The Baby, UK)
– Creation: Siân Robins-Grace, Lucy Gaymer
– Screenplay: Siân Robins-Grace, Sophie Goodhart
– Director: Nicole Kassell, Stacey Gregg
– Production: Sister, Proverbial Picture
– Broadcasting: HBO, Sky

Best Actor: Yehuda Levi (Fire Dance, Israel)
– Created, written and directed by: Rama Burshtein-Shai
– Production: Kuma Studios
– Broadcasting Yes TV
– International Sales: Yes Studios

International Panorama

Best series: The Dark Heart (Sweden)
– Creation: Oskar Söderlund, Gustav Möller
– Screenplay: Oskar Söderlund
– Director: Gustav Möller
– Production: FLX
– Broadcasting: Discovery + (Sweden)
– International Sales: Reinvent International Sales

Special jury prize: Sunshine Eyes (Germany)
– Created, written and directed by Maria Von Heland
– Production: Maze Pictures, Red Balloon Film GMBH, Tindra Film

Best series awarded by the Student Jury: Funeral For A Dog (Germany)
– Creation: Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad, Thomas Pletzinge
– Screenplay: Hanno Hackfort, Bob Konrad and Thomas Pletzinger, adapted from his novel of the same name.
– Director: David Dietl, Barbara Albert
– Production: Flare Entertainment GMBH, Sky Germany
– Broadcasting: Sky
– International Sales: Sky Studios/NBCU

French Competition 

Best Series: Chair Tendre
– Created and written by: Yaël Langmann
– Director: Yaël Langmann, Jérémy Mainguy
– Production: Jerico TV in co-production with Big Band Story and Famela
– Broadcasting: Slash
– International sales: France TV Distribution

Best Actress: Ines Ouchaaou, Charlie Loiselier, Assa Sylla (Reuss)
– Creation: Jérôme Larcher, Catherine Regula,
– Screenplay: Jérôme Larcher, Estelle Koenig, Salif Cissé, Joël N’sita, Thomas Ducastel
–  Director: Mohamed Chabane, Théo Jourdain
– Production: Lizland Films
– Broadcasting: Slash
– International sales: France TV Distribution

Best Actor: Axel Granberger (Les Papillon Noirs)
– Creation and screenplay: Bruno Merle, Olivier Abbou
– Director: Olivier Abbou
– Production: GMT Production, Jack N’a Qu’Un Oeil, Arte France, Pictanovo, With the support of the Hauts-de-France region.
– Broadcasting: Arte, Netflix
– International sales: Mediawan Rights

Tags: Series Mania

Most Recent