Disney+ to launch in 42 more countries, incl Poland, Hungary, Turkey & South Africa

The Book of Boba Fett

Disney+ is to be rolled out into 42 countries across Europe and MENA this summer, with countries including Poland, Hungary, Turkey and South Africa among the launches.

The expansion will see the fast-growing streamer also become available in countries including Croatia, Greece, Czech Republic and Bulgaria, adding to the 18 European markets it rolled into in November 2019.

The expansion represents the most significant expansion announcement made by Disney to date, and comes at a time when streaming leader and major rival Netflix is struggling to hit its subscriber targets.

The full list of new markets for Disney+ includes: Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine Territories, Poland, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City, and Yemen.

In addition, Disney+ will launch in 11 new territories including Faroe Islands, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, St. Pierre and Miquelon Overseas Collective, Åland Islands, Saint Maarten, Svalbard & Jan Mayen, British Indian Ocean Territory, Gibraltar, Pitcairn Islands, and St Helena.

Disney did not reveal specific dates for these launches, offering that the streamer will launch in the summer.

Elsewhere, the Mouse House has announced the commission of a new series based on the cult-favourite Percy Jackson book franchise, with the fantasy series serving as a complement to Disney+’s regular staple of Marvel- and Star Wars- based shows.

Tags: Disney

Most Recent